2021: Continuing to find solace in my writing during another tough year

It has been another tough year for everyone, but things are slowly but surely starting to get better after the nightmare of the Trump Years.

My writing continued to provide me with solace – truly a light at the end of a long, dark tunnel.

It was still a productive writing year for me as I closed out 2021 with the publication of my latest poetry collection, TRAVELING AT THE SPEED OF HEARTBREAK, as a digital-only release on Amazon and Smashwords. It is my sixth poetry collection, the third based on my lyrics, and my 15th indie book overall.

The lyrics and poems that are featured in TRAVELING AT THE SPEED OF HEARTBREAK were written in the late 1990s and early to mid-2000s—after I began writing again in early 1998 following a long hiatus. These 100 poems depict the dark side of love, loneliness, Hollywood dreams, life in Southern California, economic inequity, death, and life’s mysteries and hard-fought victories.

You can read more about the origins of my latest poetry book on my Backyard Poetry blog.

I also made great progress this year on my next novel about my life in public relations hell, finishing my 13th draft. I love how it is coming out. After I complete two more drafts, I will publish the first volume of my novel next year as a digital and paperback book. I also plan to explore Amazon’s new hardback book service with this book.

You can check out a sneak peek of my novel on my blog.

This year I decided to update my novel ROBOT TROUBLES with a new version I will release in the next year or two. During the editing of my novel, I’ve had to revise little as my novel holds up well. Not sure yet if I will update my book cover.

I started two new poetry books this year – one that will be my fourth collection based on my lyrics, and another collection that will feature poetry I’ve written through the years about my frustrations with working in public relations. I will bring out these books sometime in 2023 or 2024.

Once I publish my first PR hell novel next year, I will begin working on the second volume of my series for launch in 2023 or 2024. I will also turn my short stories, JACK, and, THE GARDENER, from my collection of short stories, CAR DODGING, into novels for publication in 2023 or 2024.

You can discover more about my provocative novels, short story, and poetry collections on my Amazon⁠ ⁠authors page and on my Goodreads profile, which features past book reviews.

I will continue to find joy, passion, and purpose in the words and share them with you.

Look for many more of my indie books in the coming years.

Stay tuned as always.

We have some more dark days ahead, but things can only get better in 2022.

Happy New Year!

GP

Author: gmpwrite

My real passion is writing and exploring life as a novelist, poet, and lyricist. I am the author of novels LIFE IN PUBLIC RELATIONS HELL, JAKE'S WAR: JULY 4, 2076, ROBOT TROUBLES, MONOGAMY SUCKS, RELATIONSHIPS SUCK, DEAR HEF, YOUNG, HORNY & MORMON, SWINGING WITH THE SUPERNATURAL, LETTERS FROM CYBERSPACE, short story collection CAR DODGING AND OTHER STORIES, and poetry collections TRAVELING AT THE SPEED OF HEARTBREAK, THE TRUMP YEARS, BACKYARD POETRY, THE HOLLYWOOD HOMELESS, MIMI'S DILEMMA AND OTHER POEMS ABOUT WOMEN, SEX AND MODERN ROMANCE, and BODY PARTS available on Amazon and Smashwords.

Leave a comment